Governor Dayton Announces Appointments to Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees

Alumnus Judge George Soule is reappointed

Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointments of six individuals to fill vacancies on the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees. The 15-member Board is responsible for governing Minnesota State’s system planning, academic programs, fiscal management, personnel, admissions requirements, tuition and fees, and rules and regulations.

Among the appointments is the reappointment of Judge George Soule, Minneapolis. In February 2017, Gov. Dayton appointed the Honorable George W. Soule to fill a vacancy created by the departure of  Margaret Anderson Kelliher. Soule’s term expired on June 30, 2018. His new term expires June 30, 2024.

“These outstanding Minnesotans will help guide our Minnesota State campuses, and ensure their students receive the world-class educations they need,” said Governor Dayton. “I thank them for accepting this challenge, which is crucially important for the vitality of our communities and the continued strength of our state’s economy.”

Soule is a judge of the White Earth Tribal Court of Appeals and a founding partner of Soule & Stull LLC, where he is a civil trial attorney handling cases involving product liability, commercial, and negligence claims. Previously, he was a founding and managing partner at Bowman and Brooke LLP, and an associate at Gray, Plant, Mooty, Mooty & Bennett. Judge Soule is a member of the Boards of the Division of Indian Work, Infinity Project, and the Minnesota State University Moorhead Alumni Foundation. He is the former Chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, and he earned degrees in economics and political sicence  from Moorhead State University and his J.D. from Harvard Law School.

“George Soule has had a very distinguished career bringing justice and opportunity to people throughout Minnesota,” said Gov. Dayton of his appointment in 2017. “I believe Mr. Soule will bring this dedication to ensuring excellent higher education and career training opportunities for all students at Minnesota State.”

The other individuals appointed to the Board of Trustees: Ashlyn Anderson, Champlin; Alexander Cirillo, Jr., Woodbury; Dawn Erlandson, Minneapolis; April Ho-Nishimura, Apple Valley; and Samson Williams, Brooklyn Center.

Read the Governor’s full news release.