broadcast panel

2020 Emmy Award winners for the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences include many MSUM alumni. Spanning many categories, these alumni showed excellence and perseverance in their work in a variety of roles in the video and television profession. The Dragon alumni winners are from cities across Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Read more about the Emmy awards and see all awardees.

Congrats to the following Dragons on their Emmy Awards!

MSUM Alumni Upper Midwest Emmy Winners

05A: Newscast – Daytime (Markets 1-75)

Floyd Protest: Twin Cities Burn – KSTP-TV
Kyle Johnson, Senior Producer

05B: Newscast – Daytime (Markets 76-120)

KSFY Morning News – Tornado Aftermath – KSFY-TV
Kamie Roesler, Anchor

06B: Newscast – Evening (Markets 76-120)

Fargo Riot – WDAY-TV
Thor Thompson, Executive Producer
Kerstin Kealy, Anchor
Dana Mogck, Anchor
Nick Broadway, Reporter
Kevin Wallevand, Reporter
Tanner Robinson, Photographer
Derek Murray, Photographer
Andrew Nelson, Photographer

11B: Serious Feature News Report

Haley & Heather – KARE-TV
Chad Nelson, Producer

13A: Arts & Entertainment – News Single Story/Series

The Master & The Protégé – KARE-TV
Chad Nelson, Producer

15C: Politics/Government – Program

First in the Nation: An Iowa Caucus Special – KGAN-TV
Michael Howell, Executive Producer

18A: Health – Single Story/Series

I Touched Lives – KARE-TV
Chad Nelson, Producer

24B: Weather – Program/Special

Rising Waters 2020 – KGAN-TV
Michael Howell, Executive Producer

30: Special Event Coverage (Other Than News or Sports)

7th Annual KS95’s Clouds Choir for a Cause 2019 – Atomic K Records & Productions
Todd Randall, Director of Photography
Jason (Gus) Wiltse, Camera

37A: Editor – News

Chad Nelson Composite – KARE-TV
Chad Nelson, Editor