Film Studies Alumnus Wins Two Emmy Awards

By Meghan Feir MSUM film studies alumnus Ryan Sailer, ‘08, won two Emmy Awards for projects he edited while working for the Fargo-based production company Video Arts Studios. Sailer was awarded the first Emmy for editing the civil rights documentary “The Road to Little Rock,” which follows the inspirational story of Federal Judge Ronald Davies and nine teenagers who exemplified […]

An Oscar, Emmy and 150 alumni

Theatre alumni reunite this weekend for Straw Hat 50th anniversary celebration More than 150 Minnesota State University Moorhead theatre and Straw Hat alumni are reuniting this weekend for the celebration of Straw Hat’s 50th anniversary. The group attended the Straw Hat Players “A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum” Friday evening, and will attend the reunion celebration, […]

Prairie Public receives Emmy Awards

Two Prairie Public documentaries have been honored with 2010 Emmy Awards. A Considered View: The Photography of Wayne Gudmundson, produced by Bob Dambach and edited by Dave Geck, was named best cultural documentary. Gudmundson is an MSUM Mass Communications professor. Winners were announced at the 12th annual Regional Emmy Awards Gala on September 25 at the Pantages Theatre in downtown […]

MSUM students receive 4th Emmy in 4 years

MSUM students received a regional Emmy from the Upper Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences on September 25 for the television documentary titled Inspired by Nature, produced by the Fall 2009 Broadcast Documentary Class and broadcast on Prairie Public Television. This is the fourth year in a row that MSUM students have received an Emmy […]