The MSUM Alumni Foundation will honor five recipients for Distinguished Alumni, Young Alum, and Outstanding Service awards at Night of Distinction on Oct. 4, 2018. Join us in congratulating these outstanding examples of grit, humility and heart. For ongoing event updates, check out

Distinguished Alumni  

Sherry Fieber-Beyer ’03 (physics & astronomy)
Dr. Fieber-Beyer, a research assistant professor at the University of North Dakota, has devoted herself to teaching graduate students the art of scientific space research. She is the sole female faculty member in the department. Fieber-Beyer also currently acts as the Space Studies Alumni Coordinator and has assisted in the establishment of their alumni website and many alumni events and communication.

Jeff Hagen ’68 (art)
Hagen, a retired teacher, accomplished artist and award-winning author, amassed nearly 20 solo trips to the impoverished heart of Appalachia, including six visits in 2017. One of his most recent business projects he started is Candy Appal Tees, tie dye T-shirts to build, foster and encourage a new sense of self-esteem and self worth for the students with whom he works with in Appalachia.

Sue Koesterman ’03 (philosophy)
Koesterman is the executive director for Churches United for the Homeless where she manages a team of 27. She is one of three founding coordinates of the F-M Sheltering Churches project, which grew to 35 participants. She is an advocate for more affordable housing solutions and is the pastor at Elim Lutheran Church in downtown Fargo.

Young Alum

Oluwaloni (Temi) Giwa Tubosun ’07 (political science)
Tubosun is the founder of LifeBank, which was formerly the One Percent Project. LifeBank is a business enterprise in Nigeria that is working to improve access to blood transfusions in the country.

Outstanding Service

Mike Benson ’71 (marketing)
Benson has volunteered with SCORE, is a member of the Paseka School of Business Advisory Board, is the Fargo Lion Club’s president and worked at Warner & Company for 37 years before retiring in 2010.