Five MSUM students nominated for Goldwater Scholarship

MSUM is nominating five students for this year’s Goldwater Scholarship Program: Congratulations to Alex Niemi (Physics/Engineering), Judah Nava (Computer Science), Gabrielle Ruiz (Sustainability), Bridgett Grosz (Anthropology & Earth Science) and Dennis Maina (Biochemistry/Biotechnology).

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Program is a nationally recognized and prestigious program designed to provide support to highly qualified students who are planning on pursuing careers in science, math and engineering. The scholarship is intended for students with one or two years of undergraduate study left, and provides up to $7,500 per year toward documented educational expenses. The student nominees were selected based on strong academic performance, involvement in research, and plans to pursue postgraduate degrees. The Goldwater Foundation announces awardees in March.

Recent MSUM student nominees who went on to receive a Goldwater Scholarship include MaryJo Nelson (2022) and Kelsey Leach (2020).