Jehanne Dubrow’s throughsmoke won the CLMP Firecracker award in Creative Nonfiction. The CLMP Firecracker Awards for Independently Published Literature are given annually to celebrate books and magazines that make a significant contribution to our literary culture and the publishers that strive to introduce important voices to readers far and wide.

Every New Rivers Press title is edited, designed, laid out, and marketed by MSUM students in the English, Mass Communications, and Graphic Communications departments and in the Integrated English and Publishing program.