MSUM Beta Gamma Sigma recognized as Highest Honor Chapter for the 2016-2017 academic year

The Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at the Paseka School of Business, MSUM, was recently recognized by its international organization as a Highest Honor Chapter for the 2016-2017 academic year. This designation signifies that the chapter achieved superior academic excellence in which the chapter’s faculty officers fulfill to enhance the stature of Beta Gamma Sigma. As a highest honors chapter, MSUM is eligible to nominate the following awards:

  • Business Achievement Award
  • Entrepreneurial Achievement Award (formerly the Medallion for Entrepreneurship)
  • Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award
  • Dean of the Year Award
  • Outstanding Chapter Award

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International (Top 10% students who achieve an academic excellence among the AACSB accredited schools – Top 5% schools worldwide). The mission of the International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence, to advance the values of the society, and to serve its lifelong members.

MSUM’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter has had an excellent leadership under Denise Gorsline (Interim Dean of Paseka School of Business) and Marsha Weber (Interim VP of Academic Affairs), and advised by Mohamed Elbannan, Wooyang Kim, Jerome Kuperman (retired PSB faculty), and Gokce Serdar. The presidents of Beta Gamma Sigma have been Katelyn Herfindahl (2016-2017) and Cody Christ (2017-2018).

Currently, student members of BGS have been worked with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) so that students contribute their talent to the small business in the FM area. This project is initiated by Jane Pettinger (PSB faculty) and Alan J. Haut (North Dakota District Director of SBA and MSUM & PSB alumnus), and seven of BGS students have been involved in several business projects.  The proud contributors in BGS are Aleta Sanford and Cody Rittenhouse (Greenstone Construction); Cody Christ and Taylor Kelenic (Spotlight Media); Jenna Kaltoff and Katelyn Kellen (My Aquatics Service); and Julia Stenberg and Taylor Kelenic (Inspire Innovation Lab).