MSUM Career Center Coaches Students and Alumni for Jobs, Graduate School

By Samantha Gust, Interim Director, Career Development Center In 2015, Rahil Pereira was a Minnesota State University Moorhead (MSUM) freshman in the same predicament all young adults face—landing his first job. With most on-campus jobs requiring a resume as part of the application process, Rahil turned to the university’s Career Development Center (CDC) for help. There, he found the expertise […]

MSUM team wins second place at Innovation Challenge

Our MSUM team (Rahil Pereira, Mike Mach, and Shawn Kontrec) has won the second place of the Innovation Challenge at NDSU on Dec 3, 2019. The team has been mentored by Prof. Siwei Zhu to build their product, Course Vision. Course Vision is an online platform that uses a machine-learning algorithm to develop the most efficient course schedule for university […]

MSUM Collegiate DECA team attends conference, wins 16 awards

The MSUM Collegiate DECA team attended the two-day annual Collegiate DECA State Career Conference in Minneapolis last week. A record 21 Dragons participated in the business competitions, winning a total of 16 first, second and third places (see list below). The winners qualify to compete at the DECA International Career Development Conference in Orlando, Fla., in April. In addition, two […]

2018-19 Honors Program scholarship recipients announced

Congratulations to the 2018-19 Honors Program Scholarship recipients: Henry and Carol Raff-Stevenson Scholarship: Lindsey Wenum – English/Certificate in Publishing Megan Miranda – English/Spanish John Chisholm Endowed Scholarship: Abigail Borman – Undeclared Steven Ranweiler – Art Education/Psychology Honors Alumni Scholarship: Nicole Skwira – Biology Rahil Pereira – Economics/Political Science Honors Program scholarships are awarded through a competitive application process and reviewed […]

Student Senate election results are in

Thank you for participating in our 2018-2019 Student Senate elections this past week. We are proud to say that we reached a record number of voters this year, and look forward to the direction that Student Senate takes MSUM next year. Congratulations to our newly elected leaders! President: Rahil Pereira Vice President: Maddie Carlson Treasurer: Prakriti Shrestha Secretary: Baylee Hanson […]