MSUM Beta Gamma Sigma recognized again as Highest Honor Chapter for the 2017-2018 academic year

The Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at the Paseka School of Business, MSUM, is recognized again by its international organization as a Highest Honor Chapter for the 2017-2018 academic year. It is the first time to receive this highest honor for consecutive academic years (2016-2017 and 2017-2018). This designation signifies that the chapter achieved superior academic excellence in which the chapter’s faculty officers fulfill to enhance the stature of Beta Gamma Sigma. As a highest honors chapter, MSUM is eligible for several benefits.

MSUM Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) Chapter is eligible to nominate the following awards:

  • Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award
  • Outstanding Chapter Award
  • Dean of the Year Award
  • Business Achievement Award
  • Entrepreneurial Achievement Award

In addition to these eligibilities, we are notably eligible to receive a Global Leadership Summit Registration Scholarship for one student. This scholarship covers the cost of one student registration, three nights of hotel accommodations (based on double occupancy), program materials and most meals for the 2018 Global Leadership Summit in Chicago, IL (November 1 – 4, 2018). Aleta Sanford and Haley Wolfe have been selected as the representatives of MSUM BGS Chapter, and their travel scholarship is supported by MSUM BGS chapter at the Paseka School of Business. Especially, Aleta Sanford was selected as a recipient of the Honor Roll scholarship from Beta Gamma Sigma.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International (Top 10% students who achieve academic excellence among the AACSB accredited schools – Top 5% business schools worldwide). The mission of the International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to cultivate and celebrate leadership and professional excellence, to advance the values of the society, and to serve its lifelong members.

MSUM’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter has had an excellent leadership under Denise Gorsline (Interim Dean of College of Business and Innovation) and Marsha Weber (Interim VP of Academic Affairs), and advised by Mohamed Elbannan, Wooyang Kim and Gokce Serdar (Faculty of Paseka School of Business). The current advisors of Beta Gamma Sigma in 2018-2019 are Hyun-Sang An, Wooyang Kim, and Gokce Serdar.

The current president of Beta Gamma Sigma is Aleta Sanford, and the officers are Julia Stenberg (Vice President) and Haley Wolfe (Treasurer).  The former presidents of Beta Gamma Sigma were Katelyn Herfindahl (2016-2017) and Cody Christ (2017-2018).