Five MSUM employees selected for 2017 Luoma Leadership Academy

Five MSU employees have been selected for the 2017 Luoma Leadership Academy. They are:

Lee Vigilant, Sociology and Criminal Justice; Jeff Bodwin, Dean, College of Science, Health and the Environment; Jeff Goebel, Physical Plant Manager; Ronny Bradtke, Admissions; and Jason Sobolik, Assistant Athletic Director for Compliance and Student Service. 

“Having a group of five people selected is a strong demonstration of Minnesota State University Moorhead’s support of on-going professional development, career development and growth of employees,” said Todd Thorsgaard Director, Leadership Development, and Talent Management, Human Resources Division of Minnesota State. “It also demonstrates a workforce that is committed to providing great education to students and a willingness to take on professional development challenges. Luoma is a rigorous program that requires deep personal reflection, extensive time and effort to learn new information and practice new skills, plus tackling a significant action learning project over the year.”

Participants are selected based on the following criteria:

  • Takes initiative
  • Demonstrates leadership among peers
  • Works collaboratively and builds effective teams
  • Finds creative solutions to challenging problems
  • Demonstrates decision making

“I’ve spoken with graduates of the Luoma Leadership Academy who talk about how the program transformed their work experience,” said President Anne Blackhurst. “Let me add that the university, too, is transformed by the renewed set of leadership skills that come from those Dragons who have participated.”

The Luoma Leadership Academy is named after Trustee Emeritus Jim Luoma, a longstanding advocate of providing leadership development opportunities for Minnesota State employees. The program is inclusive and focuses on building leadership capacity for those moving into a leadership position and for mid- level managers and leaders to continue their development.