Minnesota State University Moorhead head football coach Steve Laqua has announced the Dragons’ 2016 recruiting class. A total of 37 student-athletes have signed to continue their academic and athletic careers at MSUM starting this fall.

This year’s class features 31 individuals who signed national letters of intent and six who signed institutional letters of intent as preferred walk-ons.¬†More than 2/3 of the class is from Minnesota (15) and North Dakota (11). Wisconsin (six) and Illinois (four) are also represented in the class, in addition to the country of Sweden.
“We followed the recipe that we have used the last five years which has worked for us,” Laqua said. “We continue to target and get some of the best Division II players in the area. We are excited about the future of our program and are confident we will continue to keep getting better as we have each year that our coaching staff has been here.”

Laqua is entering his sixth season as MSUM’s head coach.

Signing National Letters of Intent
Alec Anderson (WR, 6-4, 195, Cold Spring, Minn./Rocori HS)
Miles Baggett (LB, 6-2, 225, Chicago, Ill./Whitney M. Young Magnet HS)
Jared Belisle (OL, 6-4 1/2, 280, Athens, Wis./Athens West HS)
Grady Bresnahan (WR, 5-8, 165 Casselton, N.D./Central Cass HS)
Derek Buchman (DB/WR, 5-11, 175, Cameron, Wis./Chetek-Weyerhaeuser HS)
Jeremiah Burnham (DL, 6-1, 230, Alexandria, Minn./Alexandria HS)
Denver Colgrove (DB, 6-0, 187, Dickinson, N.D./Richardton-Taylor HS)
Levi Cudmore (DB, 5-11, 170, Park River, N.D./Park River HS)
Devante Delbrune (DB, 6-2, 210, Moorhead, Minn./Moorhead HS)
Malique Delbrune (DB, 6-2, 210, Moorhead, Minn./Moorhead HS)
Ean Deno (OL, 6-4, 260, Shoreview, Minn./Mounds View HS)
Matthew Domek (DL, 6-4, 230, Addison, Ill./Addison HS)
Ethan Gerbig (OL, 6-2, 265, De Pere, Wis./De Pere HS)
Darin Gipson Jr. (DL, 6-2, 250, Berwyn, Ill./J.S. Morton West HS)
Alex Larson (LB, 6-0, 215, Menomonie, Wis./Menomonie HS)
Jordan Magnuson (DL, 6-3, 220, Valley City, N.D./Valley City HS)
Cameron Norenberg (OL, 6-4, 295, Zimmerman, Minn./Zimmerman HS)
Will Reul (TE, 6-4, 215, Maple Grove, Minn./Maple Grove HS)
Jake Richter (WR, 6-4, 190, Detroit Lakes, Minn./Detroit Lakes HS)
Trent Ricker (QB, 6-3, 210, Oregon, Wis./Oregon HS)
Hunter Sall (DL, 6-3, 240, Durbin, N.D./Central Cass HS)
Matt Schoh (LB, 6-3, 220, Winona, Minn./Winona HS)
Connor Schultz (DL, 6-4, 200, Waconia, Minn./Waconia HS)
Zach Simons (QB, 6-1, 215, Neenah, Wis./Xavier Catholic HS)
Nate Stich (LB, 6-1, 215, Moorhead, Minn./Moorhead HS)
Zach Sweep (RB, 6-1, 210, Bismarck, N.D./Century HS)
Deiondre Taylor (DB, 5-10, 170, Crest Hill, Ill./Lockport HS)
Markus Torpman (OL, 6-1, 280, Uppsala, Sweden/Celsiusskolan HS)
Darius Woods-Steichen (DL, 6-2, 215, Mahnomen, Minn./Waubun HS)
Carson Zarak (DB, 5-11, 185, Wahpeton, N.D./Wahpeton HS)

Preferred Walk-Ons
Drew Cady (DB, 5-8, 155, Bismarck, N.D./Century HS)
Cole Hammargen (TE, 6-3, 187, East Grand Forks, Minn./East Grand Forks HS)
Malik Larimer (WR, 5-9, 170, Thompson, N.D./Thompson HS)
Shad Vedaa (DB, 5-11, 170, Velva, N.D./Velva HS)
Devin Roesler (OL, 6-2, 285, Durbin, N.D./Central Cass HS)
Peyton Wensel (DB, 6-1, 165, Brooklyn Park, Minn./Park Center HS)