Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Team Wins NSIC Championship

ABERDEEN, S.D. – The Minnesota State University Moorhead men’s outdoor track and field team repeated what they did during the indoor season as they won the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Outdoor Championships. The women placed seventh at the Championships.

The Dragon men scored 162 points, topping second place St. Cloud State by 57.5 points. Minnesota State Mankato placed third with 94 points and Augustana (S.D.) rounded out the top four with 78 points.

The women’s team finished with 51 points, while Augustana took the title with 162 points. The University of Mary (N.D.) placed second with 145.5 points, and MSU Mankato placed third with 140.5 points.


Both Laquone Robinson and Derek Bredy were honored after the meet. Robinson was named the NSIC Field Athlete of the Year while Bredy was named the NSIC High Point Performer of the Year. Bredy had won the same award during the NSIC Indoor Championships earlier this spring.

Derek Bredy Laquone Robinson

Robinson earned the honor after he finished first in the 110-meter hurdles, third in the decathlon, third in the long jump, fourth in the triple jump and seventh in the high jump. His time in the 110-meter hurdles was 14.24, which is an NCAA DII Championships provisional time and his fastest of the year. He scored 6190 points in the decathlon. Robinson’s jumps were 23’3.25″ (7.09 meters) in the long jump, 46’4.25″ (14.13 meters) in the triple jump and 6’5″ (1.96 meters) in the high jump.

Bredy placed first in the 100-meter dash and 200-meter dash, while being a member of the first place 4×100 relay squad. He also finished second in the triple jump and sixth in the long jump.  In the 100-meter dash, Bredy ran his fastest time of the season of 10.38 seconds, one-thousandth of a second shy of the NSIC record, but hit the NCAA DII automatic qualification mark. His time of 21.07 in the 200-meter was an NCAA provisional mark and was also his fastest time this season in the event. Bredy jumped 22’11” (6.98 meters) in the long jump and leapt 46’9″ (14.25 meters) in the triple jump.

The men’s 4×100 relay squad, made up of Skyler Jackson, Brock Keaton, Uchenna Ogbonnaya and Bredy won the event as they ran the race in 41.43 seconds. The men’s 4×400 relay team also took the top spot in the race, finishing in 3:20.10. The squad was made up of Cory Shufelt, Aaron Lund, Lincoln Arnold and Ryan Olson.

Also scoring points for the Dragon men on day two was Brock Keaton, 100-meter dash (2nd, 10.50); Aaron Lund, 200-meter dash (7th, 22.09), 400-meter dash (2nd, 50.28); Ryan Olson, 400-meter dash (5th, 49.95); Michael McConnell, 1500-meter run (3rd, 4:19.02); Erik Hanson, 5K (6th, 15:52.46); Eric Asfeld, 400-meter hurdles (8th, 1:00.66); Skyler Jackson, triple jump (7th, 13.63 meters, 44’8.75″); Anthony Enyi, shot put (4th, 15.78 meters, 51’9.25″); Chris Heil, discus throw (4th, 49.18 meters, 161’4″).

The time by Keaton in the 100-meter dash and the height by Barnes in the high jump were both provisional qualifying marks for the NCAA DII Championships

Anna VanWechel finished fourth in the 1500 meter run, as she finished in a time of 4:42.87. She also finished seventh in the5K, running the race in 18:36.39.

Jessica Keesling, after having the sixth fastest preliminary time, finished second in the 110-meter hurdles. She had a time of 14.57 seconds.

Kendra Mooberry placed second in the 400-meter hurdles, while teammate Ashley Berg finished seventh. Mooberry’s time was 1:04.07 and Berg’s was 1:08.43.

Danielle Thompson finished seventh in the 3000-meter steeplechase, ass he ran the race in 11:56.60.

In the field on day two, Jasmine Henrich placed eighth in the discus with atoss of 38.79 meters (127’3″).


Categories :