• Angi Lennington, Ali Eickhoff and Stephanie Thomas, all Graphic Design majors who designed New Rivers Press books under the direction of Allen Sheets, were selected to receive the American Inhouse Design Award for excellence from Graphic Design USA. The purpose of the award is to showcase work by corporate and institutional inhouse departments all over the United States. That include corporations like Nike, Coca Cola, etc. Over 4000 cover designs were entered into the contest and fewer than 400 were chosen for the awards.
  • Corrick Center’s Kevin Zepper presented “An Introduction to Science Fiction History” at Corecon, a science fiction/fantasy convention at the Kelly Inn, April 4th. Also, Zepper will read his poetry at the Red Raven, Friday, May 1 at 7 p.m. This reading, rescheduled due to the flood, is free and open to the public.
  • Layne Anderson
    Layne Anderson

    Layne Anderson was elected Region 10 director-elect for the Association of College Unions International. He will assume the position during the fall regional conference at the University of Northern Iowa, Nov. 5-7. Region 10 includes Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Manitoba and Western Ontario. This past fall Anderson received the Siggelkow-Starr Award, Region 10’s highest honor. The Siggelkow-Starr award is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to and exhibited exceptional leadership within Region 10. The recipient of this exclusive award is one who has had a significant impact on the development and quality of the region’s programs and activities, and has been a role model for others within the region, inspiring them to do work of comparable significance. Anderson has held many regional leadership positions and served on numerous committees. He has presented educational sessions at conferences and was honored for his professional qualities and contributions on campus and in the region and his dedication to being a “student centered” leader who strives for excellence.