Holtan Presents at Ryumonji Zen Monastery

Merrie Sue Holtan, communication and journalism, presented five personal journey writing workshops at the Ryumonji Zen Monastery, rural Dorchester, IA. Other presenters included Luther College faculty, Decorah, IA, and Abbot Shoken Winecoff. Ryumonji means “Dragon Gate Temple” and exists to help people face the tribulations of everyday life.

Journalism students win multiple awards in regional contests

Three Campus News Stories Move On to National SPJ Contest Three stories from Campus News, MSUM’s student produced newscast, were named as winners in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence Awards. Stien Michalsen, a photographer for Campus News last spring, won in both the television news photography and the television sports photography categories. Collin Boyles, a 2013 graduate, […]

Martin Grindeland receives NBNA’s highest honor

Martin Grindeland, a professor in MSUM’s School of Communication and Journalism, was named this year’s winner of the Mitchell V. Charnley Award by the Northwest Broadcast News Association at the organization’s annual convention in the Twin Cities last weekend. The Charnley Award was established in 1968 and is given each year to an individual working, or with roots, in the […]

With death of anchor Marv Bossart, ‘an era has ended’

By: Dave Olson, INFORUM FARGO – Marv Bossart, whose broadcast career spanned more than four decades and made him a fixture on TV screens in the Red River Valley, was remembered by family and colleagues Tuesday as a consummate journalist who also knew the importance of a good laugh. Bossart, who died Tuesday at the age of 79, had battled […]

Mass Communications students receive Mark of Excellence Awards

The following entries have been selected to receive Region 6 Mark of Excellence Awards.  The actual place awarded will be announced at the awards ceremony April 12-13 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Bloomington, Minn. First-place regional winners will automatically advance to the national round of the competition. A list of regional winners will be posted on spj.org the Monday after the conference. Congratulations!