Criminal Justice, Gerontology and Sociology students receive academic awards

On Thursday, May 4, the faculty in the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice inducted nine students into one of three national honor societies. The faculty also announced the winners of the department’s annual awards. 

Sociology majors inducted into Alpha Kappa Delta include: William Oines and Kailin Kraker.

Criminal Justice Majors inducted into the Mu Omega chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma include: Brittany Bergren, Patience Thompson, Heidi Eggen, Hope Pickhartz, Shane Kayeska, and Katelyn Weber.

Leah Oien, a Gerontology major, was inducted into the Gamma Eta Rho Omega chapter of Sigma Phi Omega.

The Swaran Sandhu Outstanding Criminal Justice Major Award was presented to Jessica Buys.

The Outstanding Paper Award was presented to Robert Urbatsch.

C. Wright Mills Sociological Imagination Awards were presented to Abdi Osman and Amanda Heitkamp.

Robert Urbatsch received the Joshua Hanson Service Scholarship.