The Advocate wins nearly 40 journalism awards

The MSUM Advocate brought home 36 North Dakota Professional Communicators (NDPC) Awards recently.

The student-run Advocate took home first place for best publication, plus dozens of MSUM student journalists — mostly multimedia journalism majors — won individual awards.

The NDPC is the state affiliate of National Federation of Press Women, a national organization of communication professionals. The NDPC is made up of western Minnesota and North Dakota communication and journalism professionals.

The contest recognizes the best of student journalism work each year. The region includes universities in North Dakota and Minnesota.

The awards were presented to Advocate editor Kayleigh Omang at a banquet. Dr. Deneen Gilmour is The Advocate’s faculty adviser. 

Best Publication – The Advocate.

Sweepstakes winner ($100 prize) for student who won the most awards this year – Kayleigh Omang.

Web Page Design, 1st Place – The Advocate.

Better Newspaper Contest Website, 2nd Place – The Advocate.

Better Newspaper Contest News Photo, 2nd Place – Omang.

Section Regularly Edited by Entrant, 2nd Place – Advocate Arts and Entertainment.

Editorial, Honorable Mention – Kelsey Slattery.

Feature Story, 2nd Place – Josie Gereszek.

Reviews, 2nd Place – Chris Sanchez.

Editorial, 3rd Place – Andrew Taszarek.

Single Sports Photo, 2nd Place – Omang.

Single Sports Photo, 3rd Place – Mitch Cottew.

Single News Photo, 2nd – MaKayla McLain-Graning.

Single Feature Photo, 3rd – McLain-Graning.

Personal Essay, Honorable Mention – Adara Gebro.

Section Regularly Edited by Entrant, 3rd Place – Advocate Features Staff.

Photo Essay, 2nd Place – Omang.

Personal Essay, 1st Place – Anna Landsverk.

News Reporting, 2nd Place – Landsverk.

Feature, Honorable Mention – Landsverk.

Reviews, 3rd Place – Landsverk.

Section Edited by Entrant, 1st Place – John Miller for Sports section.

Sports Writing, 1st Place – Miller.

Personality Profile, 1st Place – Miller.

Sports Writing, 2nd Place – Jerrod Schumacher and Breana Orlando

Single Feature Photo, 1st Place – Omang.

Single News Photo, 1st Place – Omang.

Feature Story, 1st Place – Omang.

Editorial, 1st Place – Omang.

News Reporting, 1st Place – Samantha Stark and Ellen Rossow

Features, 3rd Place – Stark.

Feature Story, 1st Place – Mattie Hanson.

Special Articles, 1st Place – Carly DeSanto and Taszarek.

Reviews, 1st Place – Anthony Schnabel.

Photo Essay, 1st Place – Elizabeth Nelson.

Single Sports Photo, 1st Place – Nelson.