MSUM alumni Shari Gross ’95 (English and mass communications) and Kevin Wallevand ’84 (mass communications) — current adjunct faculty member — were honored with national 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards for their work in electronic journalism. The awards are given by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). 

Gross and the Star Tribune video team were recognized in the Website (Video) category.

Wallevand and photographer Cody Rogness, of WDAY, were recognized in the News Documentary category. The pair wrote and edited “Trafficked,” which documented the growth of sex trafficking in the North Dakota oil patch.

A full list of winners can be  found on the RTDNA website.


The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.