The Society for Professional Journalists and the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association have both given first place honors to MSUM’s Campus News in the student newscast category.

The Society for Professional Journalists (SPJ) Mark of Excellence Awards for Region 6 includes the states of Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. First place winners in each category advance to the national round of judging.

The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) Eric Sevareid Awards covers the six state region of Minnesota, North and South Dakota, Wisconsin, Iowa, and Nebraska.

Campus News was also a finalist in the College Newscast category in the National Academy of Arts and Sciences Upper Midwest Regional Student Production Awards. The Upper Midwest region covers Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and western Wisconsin.

Campus News airs weekly on Prairie Public Television at 7:00 AM during the spring semester. The winning newscast can be found at this link:

In addition, several students received individual awards from SPJ, MBJA, and the NATAS – Upper Midwest Chapter. In all, MSUM broadcasting students received 15 individual awards.