A reception to congratulate and celebrate a major award won by Kyja Kristjansson-Nelson, Film Studies, is set for Monday, Feb. 23, at 4 p.m. in the Library Porch in the Livingston Lord Library on the MSUM campus. The reception is open to all campus faculty, staff and students.

Kristjansson-Nelson was named a Minnesota Professor of the Year in November at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. The U.S. Professors of the Year awards program celebrates outstanding instructors across the country. Sponsored by the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, it is the only national program to recognize excellence in undergraduate education.

MSU Moorhead professors have been recognized with more Carnegie Professors of the Year designations than any college or university, public or private, in Minnesota, the Dakotas, Iowa, or Wisconsin. MSUM’s Minnesota Professors of the Year (in bold are current MSUM professors): Brian Wisenden, 2013, biosciences; Russ Colson, (also the Outstanding U.S. Master’s Universities and Colleges Professor) 2010, anthropology and Earth science; Martin Grindeland, 2008, mass communications; Ellen Brisch, 2007, biosciences; Mark Wallert, 2005, biosciences; Jim Bartruff, 2001, theatre arts; Andrew Conteh, 1999, political science; David Mason, 1994, English; Evelyn C. Lynch, 1992, education; and Delmar J. Hansen (deceased), 1987, theatre arts.