Work begins for task force on sexual violence

The president’s task force on sexual violence, chaired by Lynn Peterson, coordinator for Sexual Assault Services, met for the first time last week. The group’s charge is to make recommendations to the president about how to create a campus culture in which sexual violence, including date and acquaintance rape, sexual harassment, stalking, and other forms of sexual assault is not tolerated.

Recommendations will encompass (but are not be limited to) campus policy enforcement, prevention efforts, educational programming, advocacy and support for survivor, safety and security measures, awareness, and intervention.

“I am excited to be a member of the task force, which is made up of staff, faculty and students from across the university who are willing to help strengthen and expand our efforts to create a campus culture in which sexual violence is not tolerated,” Peterson said.

Four subgroups were formed; the groups and their members are as follows:

  • Advocacy and Support: Nicole Domine, Andy Scott, Kari Peterson, Lynn Peterson’
  • Security Measures and Safety: Jessica Jorgenson, Marilyn Labrenz, Gary Edvenson,
  • Prevention, Awareness, Education and Programming: Gloria Riopelle, Deb White, Chandler Esslinger, Heather Phillips, Kathy Smith
  • Policies and Procedures: Sean Duckworth, Angelique King, Ashley Atteberry, Ok-Hee Lee

Recommendations will be delivered to the president by March 1, 2015.