Fifteen students and two mass communications classes took home 25 awards at the 2014 North Dakota Professional Communicators (NDPC) College Communications Contest, held on May 9.

The NDPC contest is devoted to the advancement of student communicators by recognizing their work in communications throughout the year. A total of 85 awards were presented in 34 categories.

MSUM student winners:

Single News Photo:

First – Ben Gumeringer


15 Single Feature Photo:

Second – Ben Gumeringer


Single Sports Photo:

First – Breann Lenzmeier

Second – Ben Gumeringer


Photo Essay:

First – Ben Gumeringer


General News Reporting:

First – Brian Ashburn

Second – Ariana Babcock

Honorable Mention – Rebecca Lebak


On-the-Scene News Reporting:

First – Hannah Koury


Investigative/In-Depth Report:

First – Ezra Van Den Einde

Second – Chelsey Smith


General Sports Reporting:

Second – Kenny Buck

Third – Kamie Roesler


Feature Sports Reporting:

Second – Haley Foster

Honorable Mention – Kenny Buck


Special Programming:

First – Broadcast Documentary Class


Regularly Scheduled News/Information Program:

First – Campus News 4/27

Honorable Mention – Campus News 5/4


TV News Photography:

First – Hannah Koury

Third – Melissa Stephan

Honorable Mention – Stian Michalsen


TV Feature Photography:

First – Courtney Ficek

Honorable Mention – Stian Michalsen


30 TV Sports Photography:

First – Collin Boyles


Television Electronic Graphics:

First – Andrew Hendricks


Web Page Design:

Second – Aaron Larson