MSUM theatre students receive multiple awards at the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

This past week 26 MSUM theatre arts students and faculty attended the Region V Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) in Lincoln, Neb. KCACTF offers a tremendous opportunity for theatre arts students to compete in the areas of acting, directing and theatrical design; to audition for professional theatres; and to partake in workshops with major theatre artists.

MSUM students received the following awards at this year’s festival:

Senior Theatre Arts student Anne Brown advanced to the Semifinal Round of the Irene Ryan Acting Competition. With her scene partner Jamaica Meyer, they performed the musical scene “Sorority Girls” and a scene from Othello.

MSUM theatre arts students Annie Hardt, Elliot Heerman, Erika Rosenkranz, Kate Aarness, Billy Schnase, Mikey Johnson, Chris Pitner and Laurel Schuessler all participated in the Irene Ryan acting competition.

James Stenger was commended for his achievement in scene design for Mother Courage and Her Children.

Sarah Henning was commended for her achievement in stage management for The Laramie Project.

Matthew England and Ryan Soukup were commended for their achievement in playwrighting for Swashbuckled!

Drew Schnable was commended for his achievement in sound design for Swashbuckled!

In addition, MSUM students performed in several showcase events.

MSUM theatre arts students Mikey Johnson, Elliot Heerman, and Gojean Rajukumar participated in and performed an original piece through the Devised Theatre Project. Their piece, Chalk, was truly a highlight of the evening.

MSUM Theatre Arts students Anne Brown, Jamaica Meyer, Kate Aarness and Annie Hardt (with the help of Straw Hat alum Steven Schaeffer) opened the Musical Theatre Intensive with their rendition of “Cabaret” and also served as emcees for the evening.

MSUM theatre arts student Emily Carlson performed in the 10-Minute Play Festival.

MSUM Theatre Arts faculty also participated in the festival. Patrick Carriere was the Regional Chair for the New Plays Program, Craig Ellingson acted as coordinator for the Invited Scene Showcase, and Ricky Greenwell hosted two design intensives.