Students awarded scholarships from the Minnesota Nurses Association Foundation

Three students from Minnesota State University Moorhead were awarded scholarships in 2012 from the Minnesota Nurses Association Foundation (MNAF):

Alena Deutschlander (MNAF Graduate)
Megan Knoll-Pruden (Cynthia Hunt-Lines)
Karen Smiley (MNAF Baccalaureate)

Please join us in congratulating them in their accomplishment!They were acknowledged at the annual Awards Banquet at the Minnesota Nurses Association (MNA) Convention and on page 7 of the Winter 2012 Minnesota Nursing Accent.

For your information, the Foundation awarded a total of 23 scholarships in 2012:

3   $5000 each – Cynthia Hunt-Lines Scholarship
7   $2000 each – MNAF Baccalaureate Degree Scholarship
5   $2000 each – MNAF Graduate Degree Scholarship
1   $2000 each – Janky Foundation Scholarship
5   $3000 each – Rose Dhein Scholarship
2   $2000 each – Sarah Colvin Social Justice Scholarship

The primary source of funding for these scholarships is from a voluntary dues check-off process of nurses who are members of the Minnesota Nurses Association. In 2012, over 6,200 members contributed a total of over $87,000 to the general scholarship and grant fund and over $36,000 to the Cynthia Hunt-Lines scholarship fund.

The Foundation Board members appreciate the support the schools have given to nursing students.  We strongly urge you and your faculty to continue to inform your students of the opportunities available through MNAF scholarships and research grants.  We are particularly interested in receiving research grant applications from masters and doctoral students as well as applications for clinical practice projects that may be joint practice/education endeavors.  Scholarship and research grant applications are available on the MNA web site at